Europe and Eurasia Redefined


The dissolution of the Soviet Union in late 1991 and the
Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia in 1992 led to
the creation of 29 newly independent countries in Europe
and Eurasia and the disappearance of one, the German
Democratic Republic (East Germany). This course will
examine how these 29 countries have fared economically
and politically over the past 27 years, the different paths
they have taken and their current challenges. While many
of them, such as Russia and Ukraine, are well known and
frequently in the news, a large number, such as Moldova,
Estonia, Slovenia and Kyrgyzstan, are more obscure.

The course will include at least a look at all of the following:
Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia-
Hercegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic,
Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo,
Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro,
Moldova, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia,
Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

This is an expanded version of the same course given in
the fall of 2018.


Add Section Location Instructor Dates Days Times Fees Details